Computer Guides       ▼


Mac Word 2016          ▼


Mac Word 2011          ▼


Mac Powerpoint 2016


Mac PowerPoint 2011

Mac Guide: Microsoft Word 2016
Saving at EIT

PDF Print VersionShare this link

It is good practice to save your document before you start working on it, and to save it periodically as you continue to add to it, to minimise work lost if something goes wrong. Where you save your document depends on where you are working on it.

Personal Computer at home: “My Documents” on the C: Drive
EIT: H: Drive (never save to the desktop as this is reset every
time the computer is re-started)
Home & EIT: USB Memory Stick

NB: As a precautionary measure it is also good practice to also email your document to yourself so there is always a retrievable copy if there are problems with the other copies.

Saving a New Document to your H:Drive
The first time you save a new document at EIT you need to select where save it. This will always happen when you are working on new documents.

Click on Save >> The Documents folder is the default drive to SAVE to at EIT >> Please DO NOT SAVE HERE!

You could lose all of your hard work, because the Documents folder at EIT is for TEMPORARY STORAGE ONLY!


You need to change to your H: Drive, using the following steps
Click on tarfs01
Click on DATA
Click on Users
Click on HomeDirs
Click on your name

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before you save your work, create a New Folder to keep your H: Drive tidy.

Click on the New Folder icon and the following will appear in your H: Drive;

Give your New Folder a relevant name e.g. ITHD6.240 << Click create

Create a name for your file

Click Save.

NB: If you are at home or are using a USB to save a new document, make sure it is saving to the right location as mentioned above.

 

Opening and saving an edited document

Browse to the location of your document and open your document. It will open up in Word automatically.

If your save button doesnt show in the toolbar click on the down arrow and click on save or save as.

Once you have finished making your changes to your document click on the save icon at the top and it will save to same place it saved previously.